The Gospel of Peace: Matthew, Mark, and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence. Serve by learning and building peace in the world

Open Opportunity

About

Students and all are invited to serve by learning from Father John Dear, teaching others, building justice and peace through creative nonviolence.

March 12, 7 pm Student Engagement Center Ballroom,  Father John Dear speaking on The Gospel of Peace: A Commentary on Matthew, Mark, and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence. Free and open to the public. Books may be purchased.

“John Dear is one of the few towering figures in the Christian Nonviolent Freedom and Peace Movement in our time! This powerful book should not be missed!” ~Cornell West

"Peace be with you," Jesus said again and again. 

Author, teacher of nonviolence, and activist, Father John Dear offers here the first ever commentary on the Synoptic Gospels from the perspective of active nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi and Dr. King. He walks through every line of the three synoptic Gospels pointing out Jesus’ practice and teachings of nonviolence each step of the way. Grow in courage to follow Christ. Read a sample on Amazon.

Dear’s Jesus is like Gandhi and Dr. King―nonviolent to the core, a disarming, healing presence toward those in need and a revolutionary disrupter of the unjust status quo and a political threat to the ruling authorities who succeed in killing him, only to push Jesus to the heights of nonviolence through his death and resurrection. This original commentary brings a fresh new approach to the Gospels that will help all those who engage in social ministries, and inspire everyone in this time of permanent warfare, gun violence, racism, poverty, and climate change. Faith calls us to co-create a more humane and compassionate world.

 Pax Christi Texas;  Pax Christi San Antonio; the Incarnate Word Sisters Justice, Peace, Creation Office; UIW Justice and Peace Concentration; UIW Religious Studies Department; and UIW Liturgical Outreach unite in hosting this outstanding speaker. 

In connection with this, Father Jim Schellenberg has started a series of panels on nonviolence on the program “Food for Thought” on Catholic Television of San Antonio. For days and time, see the schedule https://archsa.org/catholic-tv/broadcast-schedule/ 

Read about a time that Fr. John Dear, Fr. Daniel Berrigan, Bishop Thomas Gumbleton, Sr. Martha Ann Kirk, and Sr. Dorothy Ettling for whom the Ettling Center was named, were together praying and demonstrating for peace. https://www.globalsistersreport.org/column/justice-matters/glory-brighter-burning-napalm-39871

We continue to discuss the book and anyone is welcome:  Tues, March 5, 12 noon to 1 pm NB 142 Luke, pp.  222 – 397 (or zoom https://uiw.zoom.us/my/makirk )

Wed. March 6, 5:15 to 6:15 pm NB 105   Luke, pp.  222 – 397 (or zoom https://uiw.zoom.us/my/makirk )

Suggested approaches: 1. Come ready to read a few sentences that interest you from the section of the book being considered.  OR  2. Come with a Bible and read a few sentences that interest you from the Gospel being considered. OR 3. Come without books, but an open mind and open heart!  If you have questions, feel free to write or call. 

Thanks, Sr. Martha Ann Kirk   kirk@uiwtx.edu 210-883-5934

 

Positions
0 Remaining
Sustainable Development Goals